THE ONE-WEEK TV DIARY

This is the second time since I have been living in this area that I have been asked to do a one-week TV diary. Along with the little book that arrived in the mail came a larger book full of survey questions from the company that has been hired to do this thing. Why am I spending time filling these things out? Well, it is about the only way I might be able to influence what is available to me on TV, since writing or emailing the cable company gets a generic letter explaining why they are doing whatever you are complaining about.

These people are going to see that an old lady doesn’t necessarily want to watch soaps, chick flicks, sit-coms, and reality shows. They  may be surprised to find out that I almost never watch network TV, and that I don’t even turn on the TV during the daytime hours unless there is a breaking news situation that is being covered by cable news. I listen to the radio instead. And I don’t have a DVR. If I miss a show I like, I watch it later on Hulu.com.

They are going to learn that I think the best original programming is on TNT and USA, that I loved the SYFY “Stargate” series, that I don’t like vampire and horror shows, and I don’t think “WWE Smackdown Wrestling” belongs on the SYFY channel, unless they classify that as Fantasy. They will learn that I am among those who were very disappointed when NBC finally put a serious scifi series (“The Event”) on in prime time, and then cancelled it at the end of one season. I thought it had potential.

They will learn that, although I don’t believe the Earth was created in six days, I DO think there is entirely too much sex/crime/obscenity everywhere on TV. There is also entirely too much “reality”, which in my opinion is certainly bogus and contrived.

So if I watch the “Falling Skies” Marathon all evening on Sunday, it’s because it’s a well-acted story that takes watching a couple of times to “get” what is going on in the story, and  it’s because there is nothing else better to watch.

Now, about that other survey booklet, I got about 2/3 through the questions what I started finding some that I did not think I should answer–or should be answered by anyone, frankly–and I wrote “None of your business”, and refused. Strangely enough, I got a call that day from the company to ask if I had received the materials and whether I was going to do the survey. The caller voluntarily told me that I did not have to answer any question that I did not want to, and I told her that I had found some of those, and I didn’t think they needed to know those things.

I will finish my diary on Sunday, and I will seal the booklets up and put them in the mail. It won’t cost me anything–and they paid me $7 for my effort. 🙂

Author: b4i4get

I am a 68-yo retired Physical Therapist Asst. living in Texas. Currently I have ~5 dozen webpages, including 3 homepages, an e-novel, and 1 blog. I love cats, writing, and thinking about the big questions. I am also a singer-songwriter, though no one has heard of me--yet.

Leave a Comment

