A Course in Alternate Reality (A Rant)

This is a personal critique of certain fundamental assertions found in A Course in Miracles, the book scribed in shorthand by Dr. Helen Schucman, and typed by Dr. Wm. Thetford between 1965 and 1972, published by the Foundation for Inner Peace, which holds the copyright. The writings were, according to Dr. Schucman, dictated to her mentally by a voice, which she identified as the spiritual entity Jesus, which began with the instruction, “This is a course in miracles. Take notes.”

Click here–>   http://www.a-course-in-miracles-news.com/helen-schucman  for a brief story of how it began.

Thesis: We, as our ego personalities, are WRONG, and we are always trying to defend our WRONGNESS–and make it RIGHT, rather than accept the truth: that the world is OK, and it is OUR PERCEPTION OF IT THAT IS THE ERROR.
You have to be a mental contortionist to accept this.

 
The following  quote, from the book “One Day My Soul Just Opened Up,” by Van Zant, appeared on the back of our [Unity] church bulletin:
“What is the ego?
“Ego is the part of the mind that believes it’s separated from the Mind of God. It believes in sin, guilt, fear, attack, lack, and death. It’s but a dream of what you really are, and is a wish to be what God did not create. It is a thing of madness, not reality at all.”
[The person who wrote this may have been a student of ACIM.]

At the beginning of the Sunday Lesson, entitled “My Ego and I,” the congregation received a handout (from a former ACIM facilitator) of a responsive reading based on “truths” asserted in ACIM (probably the Workbook portion.):

Responsive Reading- – from A Course in Miracles:
(Leader ) ” I have judged everything I look upon, and it is this and only this I see. My judgments have been made quite apart from reality. They lack validity and have hurt me. I do not want to see according to them. I am willing to change my mind.”
(All)  “Let me remember the power of my decision, and recognize where I really abide.” (This response followed each statement.)
WHAT I HEAR: I cannot trust my own ability to discern what is good or bad, beneficial or harmful, true or false, real or unreal? I am delusional by nature?
(Leader ) “I have judged amiss and could not understand what I see. What I see is the projection of my errors of thought. I do not understand what I see because it is not understandable. There is no sense in trying to understand it. I therefore let it go, and make room for what can be seen and understood and loved. I am willing to change my mind.”
WHAT I HEAR: I should not even try to understand the world, since I am unable to understand and judge correctly. Instead, I should just let it go, let it be, and just love everybody.
(Leader)  “My thoughts of which I am aware do not mean anything because I am trying to think without God. What I call “my thoughts” are not my real thoughts. My real thoughts are the thoughts I think with God. I am not aware of them because I have made my thoughts to take their place. I am willing to recognize that my thoughts do not mean anything, and to let them go. I choose to have them be replaced by what they were intended to replace. My thoughts are meaningless (italics mine), but all creation lies in the thoughts I think with God. I am willing to change my mind.”
WHAT I HEAR: I am not capable of thinking any meaningful thoughts of my own. I am not capable of creating anything. I am unable to solve any problems (because there are no real problems, except in my error thinking). My brain is good for nothing but operating my body.
(Leader) ” I am never upset for the reason I think because I am constantly trying to justify my thoughts. I am constantly trying to make them true. I make all things my enemies so that my anger is justified and my attacks are warranted. I have not realized how much I have misused everything I see by assigning this role to it. I have done this to defend a thought system that has hurt me, and that I no longer want. I am willing to let it go. I am willing to change my mind.”
WHAT I HEAR: I am little more than an animal with primitive emotions. I am angry, selfish, and greedy, and I draw bad experiences to me so I can hate others and feel justified in attacking them. (This speaks of the world of movies, TV, and video games, which play to our lowest emotional level in order to keep us involved in watching/playing them. They are meant to be exciting and entertaining, which our daily lives often are not. This infantile behavior is not normal and most of us are not normally that stupid, unless we are carefully taught to be.)

CONCLUSION: There is a good and life-sustaining purpose for every ability that we have. The ego is not our enemy. Through it, we learn over a lifetime, who and what we are, and are not. Through it, we protect ourselves from danger as we learn to perceive it, and seek what we need to stay alive and safe.
We cannot live by “bread alone,” but without the bread, we can’t live at all!

Author: b4i4get

I am a 68-yo retired Physical Therapist Asst. living in Texas. Currently I have ~5 dozen webpages, including 3 homepages, an e-novel, and 1 blog. I love cats, writing, and thinking about the big questions. I am also a singer-songwriter, though no one has heard of me--yet.

Leave a Comment

