DEEP THOUGHTS

ORDER

Interdependency

In order for life to succeed on this planet (or any planet), there must be ORDER. “In order for” me to even think about the idea I am trying to put on the screen here, I have to start with “orderly thinking.” There must be order to the seasons, the weather, the ocean tides, and the smaller movements of fluids. If we did not know when the sun would rise and set (if our planet’s rotation were so wild and unpredictable that our days were of random lengths), if we had no moon to infuence the tides and reproductive cycles, if we never knew when–or if–it would rain, we could not survive.

If the orbit of our planet were more elliptical, it would be too hot at its nearest distance, and too cold for much too long at its farthest distance to sustain life. Although it does not seem so, with all the extreme weather and natural events we have had lately, we do live on the only “Goldilocks” planet in our solar system.

Given a balance and order in these basic requirements, to be successful life forms, we also need ORDER, CYCLES, AND REFERENCE POINTS that are off the planet, and even outside the solar system, “in order to” know WHERE we are.

OTHER

An Other

I need “other” so that I can define myself. Another (An “other”) unites seemingly diverse and disorganized parts into “I” vs “him” or “them,” and “this” vs “that.” From this point of view, “God” created “others” to define Himself. Even though I have been told that God does not need anything, since He IS everything, I ask, “Why, then, are WE here?” Plants and animals need the sun and moon as gods. So do people, until they become aware of other suns with other planets circling them. Then they become aware of LAWS of motion; then levels of perception, chemical reactions, cycles, and equilibriums among and within living and non-living forms.

And finally, we earn the luxury of such questions as “How?” and “Why?”

ORDER–CYCLES–EQUILIBRIUM–AND A DISTANT REFERENCE POINT (either physical or in time.)

IS-NESS

Illogical

That which is–is, and always has been SOMETHING, and must ALWAYS BE something, since NO thing can spontaneously spring into being from NOT being, and NO thing which is, can cease to be [anything]. I am here, I am real, and I have a consciousness of being real and able to affect my surroundings and other conscious beings. And so, when my body stops functioning, I must continue in some other form of consciousness and/or being.

Er…right?

Author: b4i4get

I am a 68-yo retired Physical Therapist Asst. living in Texas. Currently I have ~5 dozen webpages, including 3 homepages, an e-novel, and 1 blog. I love cats, writing, and thinking about the big questions. I am also a singer-songwriter, though no one has heard of me--yet.

Leave a Comment

