I LOVE BEING 72 !!!


Why? Because I have 72 + years of experience.

I was not born yesterday. I have developed a fine-tuned sense of suspicion. I am much less likely to be sold a “bill of goods” than I was even 10 years ago. I also know enough to get confirmation in writing whenever I agree to anything. If I make a mistake, after deciding as wisely as I could, I don’t blame the other party. If I can’t undo it, I live with it and learn from it.

I do not use the same password for every Internet site on which I am registered.

I do not believe there is any chance I have won a sweepstakes, lottery, or contest that I have not entered. And I do not believe that there is anything that is “free.” Nor should there be.

When cancelling a service, I have the confidence to say NO, unequivocally, spoken slowly and spelled-out, if necessary, to any other deal that would keep me tied to that service provider, keep me paying them for anything–especially for something I am unlikely to use–and complicate my relationship with a new service provider.

I have a healthy respect for myself, and while validation from others is pleasant, my own evaluation of my conduct, work, ability, and appearance is my standard. And I have learned that a smile irons out wrinkles better than any cream or treatment.

I have learned that honesty in all my dealings and relationships is easier than trying to deceive anyone for any reason, but I also know that it’s not necessary or desirable to reveal everything. I know how to apologize and how to forgive, sincerely, including myself. But I don’t forget the lesson.

I’ve been married and raised a family, but now I enjoy my own company, and prefer to live alone. However, I sometimes talk out loud to myself, just to keep my voice working. And I CAN be nice to people when I am with them.

Finally, at 72, I may not always like myself, but I wouldn’t want to be anyone else.

Kaye at 72

 

 

 By the way, I have my Internet back, courtesy of a new DSL modem! There must be a lesson in this experience, but only time will tell me what it is. I think I am unlikely to draw the correct conclusion right now, even though it may be most obvious one. Meanwhile, I am enjoying being able to work in my little “office”, using my own huge, ergonometric keyboard with the hump in the middle and its special shortcut keys! It’s one luxury that makes typing a pleasure for someone my age. And it’s the one thing I miss most when having to work at someone else’s computer (besides my Trac-ball mouse, that is!)

Author: b4i4get

I am a 68-yo retired Physical Therapist Asst. living in Texas. Currently I have ~5 dozen webpages, including 3 homepages, an e-novel, and 1 blog. I love cats, writing, and thinking about the big questions. I am also a singer-songwriter, though no one has heard of me--yet.

2 thoughts on “I LOVE BEING 72 !!!”

    1. Hi, Maxie! What a surprise to hear from you! And I continue to be surprised at how many people are reading my previous posts on I³ ! I am about to start loving being 73 this week.

Leave a Comment

