WATER-TORTURE 2.0

Have you ever seen demonstrations of the torture technique where the victim is strapped to a board or table and water is made to drip on his face continually until he tells his captors what they want to know (or he goes crazy or dies)?
Trying to straighten out an order for service with a major nationwide provider for telephone, DSL, and mobile phones, is like being water-tortured–except that you tell them what they want to know 15 or 20 times, and they still transfer you to another department! And while you are waiting on the line, the “water” drips on your face (canned music, commercials, or the helpful suggestion to go online–especially helpful if you are calling because you have no Internet service), and you are strapped to the board (phone) because if you hang up, you have to start over.
I submitted myself to several hours of telephone water-torture three times in the past week, and I expect to have to endure at least one more session before I get my service connected and working.
Today’s session ended with “Nick,” the tech in India and “Crystal,” the customer service rep in some  part of the USA, on the line together with me, and looking at an additional week before my service order could be completed. I said, in a dramatically calm tone, “I’m going to hang up now…and…have a drink…” (laughter from both Nick and Crystal). Click. Dial tone. Heavy sigh.

Author: b4i4get

I am a 68-yo retired Physical Therapist Asst. living in Texas. Currently I have ~5 dozen webpages, including 3 homepages, an e-novel, and 1 blog. I love cats, writing, and thinking about the big questions. I am also a singer-songwriter, though no one has heard of me--yet.

1 thought on “WATER-TORTURE 2.0”

  1. That,dear Sis. G, is when you make sure that you have a good book or magazine to read when you are on ‘hold’. By the end of the phone call,the book will be finished and you are tackling the giant crossword in the magazine.
    It does help the stress, I have been in your situation several times and I DIDN’T like it all .

    I wonder why “they” do it.”They” want customers,but that turns us all away.

    Telstra used to do that with me until I rAng my son and asked him to help-heck both men work there ! He did,answer straight away,and he gave me the ‘help’number too.

    Glad you are now connected at last—good luck !

    cheers maggy

Leave a Comment

