PUT A SOCK ON IT !

Ah, Spring! The bees are buzzing, flowers are blooming, and the birds…are doing what birds DO-DO!! All over my car! I can’t park my car in a garage, so  it sits in my driveway, near a tall tree. Now, I love birds–I have about 500 of them that visit my two feeders in the back yard. Most of them are sparrows that can perch on the feeders, but the heavier birds–small and large doves, blackbirds, jays, and long-tailed grackles–eat what spills on the ground.

Now, I expect a little do-do to drop here and there, even on my car, unfortunately. But recently I began to see copious droppings every day on the driver’s side door, beside and under the sideview mirror. It got to the point where I had to carry a wet paper towel out to the car every time I wanted to drive somewhere. And one day I caught the culprit in the act, just before the big black yellow-eyed b*st*rd flew away!

What on earth was I going to do to shoo him away? Well, I thought of hanging a kind of shiny scarecrow made of aluminum foil on the mirror, and had actually made one, which worked for one day. But that evening I was talking to a friend on the phone and mentioned the mirror problem. “Put a sock on it!” he said.

He told me that he had had the same problem with birds sitting on the side mirrors of his car while it was parked in an open carport. He finally figured out that the birds could see their reflections in the mirrors, and would fight with them as rivals! In the process, a great deal of excrement would be squirted on to the car door! It became a really annoying problem, before he thought of covering the mirrors with sox, so that the birds could not see themselves. It worked!

Well, next morning I stretched a white cotton sock over that side mirror, and there has been no more bird poop on my car door ever since! It’s easy to pull the sock off when I need to use the car, and put it back on when I get home.

White cotton sock over mirror
It works!

The big black bird now sits on the mirror of  my neighbor’s car. (And yes, of course I’ll share my solution with him if I see him having to deal with the problem.) 😉

Author: b4i4get

I am a 68-yo retired Physical Therapist Asst. living in Texas. Currently I have ~5 dozen webpages, including 3 homepages, an e-novel, and 1 blog. I love cats, writing, and thinking about the big questions. I am also a singer-songwriter, though no one has heard of me--yet.

3 thoughts on “PUT A SOCK ON IT !”

  1. You are clever–2 brilliant ideas–no, I’m not being sarcastic !!!
    I would go to the library and check the magazines that pay the most for handy hints and send both of them in ! maybe you will get a cheque ?
    Good luck!

    xxxx Maggy

  2. Dear Kaye,
    I have to write this one over…wonderful solution to the bird DO and car problem you were having. It is a good one to pass on. I have a similar problem since my car sits under cedar trees in my driveway, but I don’t have your bird population so it isn’t as bad. Hmm, forgot what else I wrote in my first comment so will close this for now. I always enjoy reading your blogs. Hugs. Lori xxoo

  3. Thanks to both of you for taking the time to posts such nice and supportive comments! The sock has been in use on the side mirror for several days now, and it seems to be doing its job (though I must admit to seeing one small dropping on the door 2 days ago.) The opposite side mirror is sheltered by low sago palm leaves, and somehow, the birds don’t see it as an attractive perch. Hmm…I wonder why the car companies haven’t come up with vinyl mirror covers to sell as an accessory?

Leave a Comment

