Hard to Believe, but I Did It!!

Noplace Sign-cf
Happiness is a warm computer

This morning I finally took on the task of installing a matched pair of new memory cards in my 6-year-old desktop. The CPU has been trying to function on its original RAM all this time, and beginning to freeze continually these past few months, as I demanded more from it. So, armed with all the information I could find, and a grounding wristband that attached to the metal case of the CPU, I disconnected everything and opened her up. (This was not as easy as it looked, since I had never opened it before.)

Lying on its side, and full of bundled wires, the working space inside the tower was cramped, but not impossible to manage. It did take some effort to settle the new cards into place, but finally the clips came up to secure them, and I knew I had succeeded.  Next, I removed the dustballs that had collected on the fan filter and  everywhere else that I could reach with a big, soft cosmetics brush. And finally, I got the  panel back on correctly and reconnected everything.

Then the test came. I turned on my newly-upgraded computer. The message on the black screen told me that changes to the hardware had been detected. I was directed to press F1 to continue, or F2 for setup. I chose F1, and much to my relief and delight, the machine booted normally–and quickly! I find that my programs now load faster and perform their functions with more speed and energy. Windows Media Player does not stop and start [much], but I still have to wait for Youtube videos to buffer every few seconds. (I don’t know WHAT I have to do to fix that!!)

But I am happy and proud that I was able to do this job by myself, at my age.  And I say, if I can do it, almost anyone can! HOORAY!

Author: b4i4get

I am a 68-yo retired Physical Therapist Asst. living in Texas. Currently I have ~5 dozen webpages, including 3 homepages, an e-novel, and 1 blog. I love cats, writing, and thinking about the big questions. I am also a singer-songwriter, though no one has heard of me--yet.

Leave a Comment

