TOO OLD TO TEXT

You know your 2-year contract is almost up when your cellphone provider sends you an offer for the latest fabulous phone with all the features “everyone” wants now. All you have to do to get it mailed to you free is add another line of service and commit to another 2-year contract.

Motorola Qwerty
Motorola Qwerty

While most kids and young adults can easily ‘text’ with a standard keypad, it’s OK if you can’t. They have phones with typewriter (QWERTY) keypads. You don’t want to carry around a calculator or appointment calendar? That’s cool–your phone can do that. You want to check your email or do your banking without lugging a laptop around? Your phone can do that, too. And of course, you can snap photos with the camera feature and send them to people. You don’t even have to wear a watch anymore.

On some phones, you can download music and short videos, and set your DVR at home. But who would want to do all that, and spend the money it takes to have access to all those features? Not me, certainly! However, I know one busy, tech-savvy career woman who travels a lot, and I have seen her gleefully shake her iPhone to come up with a map to a random restaurant location when I was with her in an unfamiliar city.

iPhone 3G
iPhone 3G

I don’t text. I have enough difficulty finding the numbers on the keypad, and it costs enough just to maintain phone service. I have trouble setting the time on my 4-button digital watch, though most men of any age can experiment with it for a few seconds and figure it out. And of course, a boy or girl of 8 or 10 would have no problem with it. 😦

Author: b4i4get

I am a 68-yo retired Physical Therapist Asst. living in Texas. Currently I have ~5 dozen webpages, including 3 homepages, an e-novel, and 1 blog. I love cats, writing, and thinking about the big questions. I am also a singer-songwriter, though no one has heard of me--yet.

Leave a Comment

