I’m losing my grip!

The icons on my desktop that are shortcuts to websites had different logos yesterday–and one even showed a question mark…today they are back to what they were, I swear!……..The AV program that I had been using kept freezing my browser, so I got rid of it and installed one that I thought would be better. Yes, it works, but it always seems to be doing something invisible while I wait 10 minutes for my mail program to open…It is November and it’s snowing in some of the northern states, while here in south Texas it is 80º and a hurricane just blasted its way over Cuba! Meanwhile, the arctic glacier is actually growing. (Losing my grip!)

Some big insurance companies are going “bust”; meanwhile, 50 different Medicare D and C Plans are all asking me to join. My Medicare D Drug Plan just went up $13 a month for 2009, so I have been looking…and they all looked good, until I found out that some are HMO Plans. For others I was ineligible (wrong county or not open to new members), or they had high deductibles. 😦 I guess I will just stick with what I have; I will still save more than I pay. But here I have to agree that there is too much wasteful competition. They are shooting themselves in the foot by cutting here, padding there, and wrinkling each plan with so many details and tiny variations that each one is useless in some way to most people. (Losing my grip!)

Things are changing, all right, since Mr. Obama became President-elect. And that’s what the people wanted–“change.” But a change to what? It’s different, yes, there is a different feeling, all over the world. History has been made. People want to hope. But it’s like the extraterrestrials dropped an electromagnetic bomb on us and our engines won’t start….my IRA is losing value, and I was sort of counting on that to help me put groceries in my shopping cart. Oh, I know it will turn around; the shares are still there, like dried-out seeds. When the drought is over, they will swell, put down roots in the fertile soil of this country, and grow, bearing fruit again. 🙂 Wow! That was poetic–patriotic, even. I wonder where it came from?

Meanwhile, I feel as if I have entered a parallel dimension where I cannot touch things I reach for, but just pass right through them…

(Losing my grip!…uh-oh……lost it!)

Author: b4i4get

I am a 68-yo retired Physical Therapist Asst. living in Texas. Currently I have ~5 dozen webpages, including 3 homepages, an e-novel, and 1 blog. I love cats, writing, and thinking about the big questions. I am also a singer-songwriter, though no one has heard of me--yet.

Leave a Comment

