On Turning the Big Seven-Oh

To Me!
To Me!
Whoopee!
Whoopee!

What  is left of my small family (most of them) and a solid group of friends have really made an effort to let me know that my birthday is remembered and celebrated. I get cards, telephone calls, and e-cards from those who can’t visit me personally, and cards, gifts, and dinner on the town from the local group. More fuss has been made over my birthday since I retired and moved to South Texas than at any time since my Sweet Sixteen party when my father danced with me!

It’s really beautiful to feel that I am loved that much! And that may be why, as I turn 70, I feel younger, rather than older. Of course, I can credit 6 months of stationary bike riding (and some walking), a spectacular recovery from a spinal diskectomy, fusion, and extended antibiotic treatment, taking care of myself with a few necessary meds and a shelf full of supplements, and having something to do. I can also credit  having no chronic debilitating diseases. I have been extremely fortunate. 🙂

Writing has always been a natural and easy way of expressing myself. I have self-published in text form my one fantasy e-novel (see the “Feline Fairy Tales” link under Blogroll in the sidebar on this page.) And writing songs that I can perform in church has developed into a well-defined part of my personality–I am a resident singer-songwriter in my small church, as well as Secretary of the Board.

Late Bloomer
Late Bloomer
I also have my wild birds to feed and my container garden to care for. And I am content to do any traveling through the books I read and the internet–journeys of the mind. I have a 5-year-old car that I drive only where I need to go (or occasionally, where a friend needs to go.)
I am not afraid of dying. I only hope it is peaceful, and I hope to finally find out what experience for the spirit may lie beyond death of the body. But in the meantime, I look forward to many more Happy Birthdays.
Well, open it!
Well, open it!

 

Author: b4i4get

I am a 68-yo retired Physical Therapist Asst. living in Texas. Currently I have ~5 dozen webpages, including 3 homepages, an e-novel, and 1 blog. I love cats, writing, and thinking about the big questions. I am also a singer-songwriter, though no one has heard of me--yet.

Leave a Comment

