I MAY BE OLD (But I’m Still Here!)

O, there’s grey hair on my head,

I barely make it out of bed,

But I greet the day with cheer;

I may be old, but I’m still here!

 

Well, I do my exercise,

And to a diet I am wed,

But I’m not losing any weight!

And I feel I’ve been misled.

 

So, I’ll put butter on my bread,

And I’ll eat ice cream before bed,

And I won’t walk, ‘cause I can steer;

And so I’m old, but I’m still here!

 

My old friend called me up and said,

“Let’s go paint the town bright red!”

But when I’m showered, dressed, and fed,

I’d rather take a nap, instead!

 

O, there’s grey hair on my head,

And my body feels like lead.

Some parts of me are missing

And my mem’ry’s just a shred.

 

Yes, my years on earth are numbered,

And I know my youth has fled,

But it’s no time for fear—-

I’m old, but I‘m still here!

 

But when I face a challenge,

And my heart is filled with dread,

I may ask where God has gone,

As I lie there in my bed.

 

But if I turn my thoughts off,

God’s voice is calm and clear,

“My child, I go before you,

And I’m old—-

But I’m still here!!!”

Author: b4i4get

I am a 68-yo retired Physical Therapist Asst. living in Texas. Currently I have ~5 dozen webpages, including 3 homepages, an e-novel, and 1 blog. I love cats, writing, and thinking about the big questions. I am also a singer-songwriter, though no one has heard of me--yet.

2 thoughts on “I MAY BE OLD (But I’m Still Here!)”

  1. Hey, thanks, “20years”! I didn’t even have time to email my group that my new post was up, before I found your comment! I recited this [original] poem in church today. We have a lot of older folks like me, and I heard some laughs from them.

Leave a Comment

