IT’S SUPER TUESDAY II!

white housegreat seal 

I live in Texas and today is the big Primary and Caucus. Every man, woman, and child knows that–we would have to be blind and deaf, or in a coma not to know that. I have received calls from Bill, Hillary, and Chelsea Clinton, Michelle Obama, the President of the University in our town, my state representative, and numerous party workers whose names I didn’t recognize (all recorded, of course!) Several weeks ago I patiently answered questions for an opinion survey on the phone with a young man calling from Chicago. And the candidates, themselves, have made several trips to my area.

I used to wonder where all the people were who got polled, because no one ever asked me what I thought about any major issues. This year, I think everyone is getting polled, urged to cast their vote, and come out and support one or the other [Democratic] candidate, at least here in Texas, and probably in Ohio, Vermont, and Rhode Island today. The Republicans are not working that hard right now in Texas since, I guess the nomination is not much in doubt. But all the names are still on the ballot!

It so happens that I have already gone down to Early Voting last week and cast my vote. It was hard enough finding a parking place last Tuesday morning, so I was certainly not going to drive around the block several times and then stand in a long line on Tuesday, March 4–at 69 my poor old body won’t take it. But I am not yet homebound or blind so that I qualify for a mail-in ballot. Early voting is the best idea they have come up with in a long time, I think. And the electronic ballot we have in my area is easy to read , use, and correct if you make an error. There is no excuse for anyone who is qualified and capable of making an informed choice not to vote, and it looks like we will have a record turnout today!It’s gonna be a long night…….

 

Author: b4i4get

I am a 68-yo retired Physical Therapist Asst. living in Texas. Currently I have ~5 dozen webpages, including 3 homepages, an e-novel, and 1 blog. I love cats, writing, and thinking about the big questions. I am also a singer-songwriter, though no one has heard of me--yet.

Leave a Comment

