MAKE FROWN LINES VANISH!

I just heard a radio commercial for a cream that would get rid of my frown lines. I am betting that the small jar sells for at least $29.95. Not long ago, women actually had Botox parties to inject each other’s facial muscles with a botulinus-containing compound. These bacteria, if consumed in improperly-canned food, can cause death by paralyzing one’s vital organs. Injecting the serum into the facial muscles is supposed to relax them and make them incapable of forming unsightly wrinkles on the forehead, and around the eyes, nose, and mouth.

It suddenly occurred to me that there is a much less expensive and dangerous way to accomplish this purpose, and without leaving a woman’s face with an expressionless mask. All she has to do is smile!

catNdog_snuggle

Have you ever paid attention to the way a smile totally alters your appearance? The first time I caught myself smiling in front of a mirror and actually paid attention, I was so surprised that I put up a sign on the mirror to remind me. It said: “IT IS AMAZING HOW MUCH A SMILE IMPROVES YOUR APPEARANCE!” When you live alone, you need reminders like that because you seldom use your face at home. And you look in the mirror less as you get older, too. The facial muscles sag from disuse, and the first thing you know, you pass a mirror and are shocked to see that old hag looking back at you! Smile, and she will change into someone 10 years younger and much better-looking!

At church one Sunday, three of us older ladies were talking about feeling like 40 on the inside, but starting to look like 70 on the outside. I said, “I see my mother when I look in the mirror.” The others laughed, and then the youngest one said almost matter-of-factly about me, “And then she smiles…”

When I was working and visited patients in their homes, I often saw weathered old women who had worked in the fields and cared for a large family. Some kept loaded shotguns in their closets. They were tough, even in their 70s. I could not imagine them as young girls. I recall one stocky old lady with a face so lumpy with wrinkles that she reminded me of an oatmeal cookie. Not attractive at all, I thought. But she had not lost her sense of humor. And the first time I saw her smile, I could not believe the transformation. Her eyes sparkled with love, and the lumpy wrinkles softened into round cheeks. I had to smile in return. And I thought to myself, even an ugly person can be beautiful with a loving smile!

So who needs Botox? Smile, and take years off your appearance! (And people will wonder what you’ve been up to!)

Author: b4i4get

I am a 68-yo retired Physical Therapist Asst. living in Texas. Currently I have ~5 dozen webpages, including 3 homepages, an e-novel, and 1 blog. I love cats, writing, and thinking about the big questions. I am also a singer-songwriter, though no one has heard of me--yet.

3 thoughts on “MAKE FROWN LINES VANISH!”

  1. A comment on my own article: the same things that I said about women, also applies to men, of course! Lots of men , old or young, who would not be thought of as handsome, become very attractive with a genuine smile. We call their looks “rugged”, and it is meant as a compliment.

  2. Thanks, Lori! The great thing about this “treatment” is that it costs nothing, and one “package” lasts for a lifetime! 😉

Leave a Comment

