Is It Just Me?

lil-batLately every time I turn on the TV there is a new movie or series about evil monsters, psychotic serial killers, satanic beings, possessed toys, vampires, zombies, or huge insects created by nuclear radiation. Apparently there is a hungry audience for this sort of thing, and a large percentage of what passes for entertainment on TV and in theaters is currently of the horror genre.

According to psychologists, it is normal for human beings to enjoy being scared, either by such things as Halloween haunted houses, or vicariously by reading or watching horror stories on the screen. Stephen King will never have to worry about money for as long as he lives, since people seem to have an insatiable appetite for the stuff of King’s nightmares.

It is an adrenalin high for some and a catharsis for others, the psychologists say. People see victims hacked to death, eaten alive, attacked by hallucinations, controlled or tortured by demonic beings, but it is not happening to them, and when it is over, they have a sense of having escaped or survived. At least, I guess that is what it is all about. I wouldn’t know.

That’s why I ask, “Is it just me?” Most people I know do like Stephen King’s stories and they do watch horror movies. It’s “fun.” I, on the other hand, have ZERO desire to be scared, terrorized, tortured, controlled, threatened, or haunted, not even VIRTUALLY, and I object to the concept of EVIL resident on earth or anywhere else.

Does anyone out there hear me?

Author: b4i4get

I am a 68-yo retired Physical Therapist Asst. living in Texas. Currently I have ~5 dozen webpages, including 3 homepages, an e-novel, and 1 blog. I love cats, writing, and thinking about the big questions. I am also a singer-songwriter, though no one has heard of me--yet.

Leave a Comment

